Receive alerts from your local agencies
...or text your ZIP CODE to 888777 for mobile alerts

Full Notification

Indiana State Police-Indianapolis District 52-Indianapolis, IN
Monday April 24th, 2017 :: 10:24 a.m. EDT


Two Indianapolis District Troopers Honored at Awards Ceremony

GroupIndianapolis, IN - In a ceremony at the Indiana Government Center Friday April 21st, Superintendent Doug Carter presented two awards to Troopers from the Indianapolis District. Trooper Chris Waltz was named the Indiana State Police Trooper of the year and Trooper Cameron Bottema received two awards for his DUI enforcement efforts.

WaltzTrooper Waltz was nominated for the award by his supervisor Sgt. Brent Gulinson based on his work ethic, values and overall performance during the 2016 calendar year. In his nomination letter Sgt. Gulinson noted “Trooper Waltz is a highly motivated trooper, with a work ethic that is second to none.  He displays a high level of competency, and is extremely dependable and self-motivated. Trooper Waltz always presents a positive and professional image of himself and the Indiana State Police. He is the consummate shift partner, always willing to assist fellow troopers and other law enforcement agencies both on-duty and off-duty.  He routinely volunteers for assignments and special details and can be entrusted to complete them without issue.”

In 2016 Trooper Waltz patrolled Marion County on middle shift (2:00 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.) and had the following criminal and traffic enforcement activity:
  • 296 criminals put in jail resulting in 356 seperate criminal charges, 81 of which were felonies.
  • 87 criminal cases investigated - most as a result of traffic stops he initiated
  • 16 DUI arrests
  • 8 stolen vehicles recovered
  • 811 traffic tickets issued
  • 511 written warnings issued
  • 484 police services – assisting the public
  • 243 vehicle crashes investigated
Each of the 14 Indiana State Police Districts present a yearly “Trooper of the District” award within their respective areas. Trooper Waltz was chosen by the command staff at the Indianapolis Post to receive this award. From the elite list of “Trooper of the District” nominees, Waltz was chosen by the Indiana State Police command staff, including Superintendent Doug Carter, to receive the department’s highest yearly honor, Indiana State Police Trooper of the Year. Indianapolis District Commander Lt. Jeff Payne said “Chris is an exemplary police officer whose efforts have undoubtedly saved lives. He strives to represent the Indiana State Police in the most professional way and is a great asset to our district."

BottemaTrooper Cameron Bottema was recognized with two awards for his incredible DUI enforcement efforts. His first award was for the highest number of DUI arrests at the Indianapolis District. His second award was the "DUI Life Award" for being in the top five statewide for impaired driving arrests. In 2016 Trooper Bottema arrested 124 drunk drivers in the Indianapolis Area. Indianapolis District Commander Jeff Payne said, "Trooper Bottema's motivation to find and arrest drunk drivers has undoubtedly made our roadways safer and saved lives. His enforcement efforts are being recognized in hopes that it will deter others from making the decision to drink and drive."
Bottema is a two year veteran of the Indiana State Police and patrols night shift in Marion County.  

Indiana State Police-Indianapolis District 52-Indianapolis, IN
8620 East 21st Street
Indianapolis, IN 46219

Emergency: 9-1-1
Non-emergencies: 317-899-8577

John Perrine
Indianapolis, District 52

Navigate & Discover