Receive alerts from your local agencies
...or text your ZIP CODE to 888777 for mobile alerts

Full Notification

Oakland Police Department CA
Friday June 7th, 2013 :: 02:57 p.m. PDT

Community

OPD Continues to Roll Out Its Five District Plan Saturday - Amended

On Saturday, June 8, 2013, the Oakland Police Department will continue implementation of its Neighborhood Policing Plan, putting into place leadership and teams for each of five Police Districts that together encompass the entire City. Districts 4 and 5, in operation since March, cover East Oakland. Districts 1, 2, and 3, hinging on Lake Merritt, cover West Oakland, North Oakland, and Central Oakland.

District commanders will deploy crime reduction and prevention strategies tailored for the areas they command in order to provide as much focused, problem-oriented, and community-driven police service delivery as possible. There will be no change to the number of patrol or problem solving officers assigned to beats or Neighborhood Crime Prevention Councils.

The five district commanders listed below have the authority needed to impact local community crime trends, issues, and pat¬terns. At the same time, the commanders will be held accountable for effective police service and the quality of police/community relationships in their Districts. Most importantly, the five commanders will be able to focus on specific issues of concern to local neighborhoods.

District 1 – Capt. Eric Lewis – 238-6911 – elewis@oaklandnet.com
District 2 – Capt. Anthony Toribio – 238-3958 – atoribio@oaklandnet.com
District 3 – Capt. Ricardo Orozco – 238-3330 – rorozco@oaklandnet.com
District 4 – Capt. Steven Tull – 777-8561 – stull@oaklandnet.com
District 5 – Capt. Kirk Coleman – 777-8543 – kcoleman@oaklandnet.com

A map showing the five districts is available at http://www2.oaklandnet.com/oakca1/groups/police/documents/webcontent/oak040286.pdf

For more information, please contact Sgt. Holly Joshi, OPD Chief of Staff, at hjoshi@oaklandnet.com or (510) 238-3131.

For more information, please contact the Media Relations Office at (510) 238-7230 or opdmedia@oaklandnet.com. Visit Nixle.com to receive Oakland Police Department alerts, advisories and community messages, or follow OPD on Twitter, @oaklandpoliceca.

Address/Location
Oakland Police Department CA
455 7th St
Oakland, CA 94607

Contact
Emergency: 9-1-1
Non-emergencies: 510-777-3333

Navigate & Discover