Receive alerts from your local agencies
...or text your ZIP CODE to 888777 for mobile alerts

Full Notification

Vermillion Valley Regional Communications Joint Authority
Saturday February 23rd, 2019 :: 02:24 p.m. CST

Alert

High Wind Warning until 06:00PM Sunday

The National Weather Service in Chicago has issued a High Wind Warning, which is in effect from 3 AM CST /4 AM EST/ to 6 PM CST /7 PM EST/ Sunday. The High Wind Watch is no longer in effect.

* TIMING...Very strong west winds will develop late tonight and early Sunday morning and persist into Sunday evening.

* WINDS...Sustained west winds of 40 mph with gusts up to 60 mph.

* IMPACTS...Difficult travel, especially for high profile vehicles on north to south roads. Unsecured objects outdoors blown around. Tree limb damage and sporadic power outages possible.

* Scattered snow showers in the morning may produce near white- out conditions for brief periods.

* AFFECTED AREAS: OGLE ... WINNEBAGO ... NEWTON ... LA SALLE ... KENDALL ... BENTON ... MCHENRY ... FORD ... BOONE ... KANE ... COOK ... DUPAGE ... LAKE ... LAKE ... KANKAKEE ... PORTER ... WILL ... GRUNDY ... DE KALB ... IROQUOIS ... LIVINGSTON ... JASPER ... LEE

Instructions:

A High Wind Warning means a hazardous high wind event is expected or occurring. Sustained wind speeds of at least 40 mph or gusts of 58 mph or more can lead to property damage.

Address/Location
Vermillion Valley Regional Communications Joint Authority
844 W Lincoln St
Pontiac, IL 61764

Contact
Emergency: 9-1-1
Non-emergencies: 815-844-0911

TEXT-A-TIP -  Text TIP VCOM followed by your message, to 888777

Submit an anonymous web tip

Alert Details

Severity:
Severe - Significant threat to life or property
Urgency:
Expected - Responsive action SHOULD be taken soon (within next hour)
Certainty:
Likely (p > ~50%)
Category:
Meteorological (inc. flood)
Event:
High Wind Warning

Navigate & Discover